Skip to content

Allergen Free Protein Bars

~The Complete List~

Here is the complete list of bars - protein, snack and meat bars!  All of these items claim to be free of at least one major allergen.  This is a work in progress, so we will add bars as we come across them.

Please note the word “claim” – we are aware that companies are not always honest, or that levels of allergens that allow them to make the “free” claim may not always work for everyone.

As an example, the level of gluten tolerated by folks with Celiac disease is lower than the level required for the “gluten free” label.  So gluten free labeled items may not work for them.

As always, please do your own due diligence and research and make sure you only eat things that you have determined are safe for you.  Do you have a favorite that's not on the list?  A flavor we haven't tried that you love (or hate)? Please let us know!

PROTEIN BARS (NON-MEAT)

  1. Health Warrior – a pea protein and ancient grain bar with a few different flavors. Their website says they are certified gluten free and vegan.  I like this bar, but it is not very sweet and the chia seeds give it a bit of an odd texture.
  2. Paleo Protein – Egg white or beef protein bars, paleo friendly. Very chewy, but warming them briefly in the microwave is recommended by the company to improve the texture and flavor. My mom warms them about 3 minutes in the toaster over and says that works great.
  3. RXBAR® protein bars – a gluten free bar made of egg whites, nuts, and dates, as well as other ingredients depending on the flavor. They have fruit, peanut butter, maple, and various chocolate flavors available.  They are a sticky, taffy-like bar that tastes good and packs a protein punch. Gluten free, soy free, and dairy free.  See the review here.
  4. Rise Bars – the protein bars are gluten free, soy free, and peanut free. They offer three flavors of whey protein bars and three flavors of pea protein bars, so there are some options if you want a non-dairy alternative. They also offer breakfast and energy bars, but I haven't tried those.
  5. Thunderbird – dairy, grain, and soy free. They have fruit and nut bars and nut and seed bars.
  6. Zing – Vegan protein bars or whey protein bars in several flavors. Gluten free, no soy protein, no artificial flavors.
  7. Luna - Some of these bars are gluten free, and some of these bars taste like a candy bar!  But they are pretty high sugar, and most contain soy protein and other ingredients that some of us try to avoid.

 

 

 

 

SNACK BARS

  1. Health Warrior – chia bars that make a great snack. Gluten free and vegan.
  2. Larabar – gluten free, but they have a variety of products with other benefits or free of other allergens. There are various kinds of bars and products in many flavors.
  3. Pure Bars – organic, non-GMO, gluten free, dairy free, soy free. Made from fruits, nuts, grains, nut butters.  Six flavors available.

 

MEAT BARS

  1. Epic – several varieties of meats, including turkey, beef, and bison.  Epic has re-vamped their recipes and flavor offerings since I tried their meat bars.  At one time, the flavors that I tried contained cumin, and I did not care for the taste.  However, the new flavors may be better.  If you have tried them, let me know!  Gluten free, dairy free, soy free.
  2. Mission Meats – grass fed beef sticks in a couple flavors.
  3. Paleo Protein – Egg white or beef protein bars, paleo friendly. Very chewy, but warming them briefly in the toaster oven seems to help the texture.
  4. Tanka Bars – Native American-produced buffalo and cranberry protein bar. Several flavors available and other products as well.  A great low-sugar meat bar for a protein pick-me-up. Gluten free.  See the review here.
  5. Wilde bars – High quality meat bars with some other ingredients. They use grass fed beef, but be aware they use flax seeds in at least some of these bars.  There are several flavors.
  6. Wild Zora bars – With only a few ingredients, this meat and veggie snack is a go-to protein boost.  These bars are gluten-free, grain-free, soy-free, and paleo-friendly.  One flavor contains cheese.
1301902376-300px